FAQs
Why do you need my picture?
The application uses your face to authenticate you and allow you to use the tool as your organization intends.
How does face authentication work?
Face authentication works by comparing a snapshot from the live video feed with a stored facial print of your face using facial vector technology.
What's the difference between face recognition and face authentication?
Face recognition is identifying who you are amongst a large group of people. Face authentication is verifying that you are who you say you are by comparing a snapshot from a live video feed with a stored copy of your picture. This application does face authentication and not face recognition.
If my appearance changes, will it still work?
Yes. Face authentication uses specific aspects of your face which will remain the same regardless of changes in hair cuts, facial hair, glasses, makeup, etc.
Does it work under dark conditions?
No. Unlike mobile phones, computer cameras typically do not have built in sensors which can adjust to low light conditions. Please make sure there is sufficient light on your face.
Is there any video streaming to the backend system?
No. The application captures frames from the camera feed in real-time and processes those frames using our AI/ ML Models running on your local computer. It does not and does not need to stream video off of your computer to do its job.
Am I being filmed?
No, you are not being filmed. The application is not used to spy on or invade your privacy. The application captures and encrypts any information it gathers and then makes that data available to your supervisor (see the later FAQ on What can my supervisor see? for more information)
What can my supervisor see?
When an event occurs (e.g., face authentication), the supervisor can see the following (configurable by the administrator):
- Your profile picture
- A snapshot of what your camera sees at the time of the event
- A snapshot of the contents of your desktop at the time of the event
- A short video (2-3 seconds before and after the event) of what your camera sees
- A short video (2-3 seconds before and after the event) of your desktop
- Your geolocation details (based on your IP address)
Why does my screen lock?
Depending on how your administrator has configured the system, the application may lock your screen when certain events are detected. This is to ensure that data is not exposed to anyone outside of your organization.
What happens if I lose network connection?
Video detection happens using the AI/ML Models on the local computer. Even if the network is not connected, the system can still perform detections and generate events which are uploaded when the network is connected again.
What if the application reports an incorrect event?
If the application incorrectly reports an event, you can report that to your supervisor via the chat channel and your supervisor can then mark it as incorrect by clicking on the disagree button on the supervisor console.
Can the application access my passwords or other files?
No, the application does not have access to your passwords or personal files and does not need any access to do its job.